Reference Materials
Not only are reference books the best place to start your research, but they also can save you loads of time. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, companions, handbooks, etc. provide quality information that is easy to find and gets right to the point.
Use them to get:
- topic ideas
- ways to narrow or broaden your focus
- topic background
- subject overviews
- definitions
E-Reference
Some pertinent electronic reference materials:
- A History of Opera: Milestones and Metamorphoses
- Cambridge Mozart Encyclopedia
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online
- Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages.
- Hutchinson Concise Dictionary of Music
- Magill's Notable Playwrights
- Naxos Streaming Music Library
- NPR Classical Music Companion: Terms and Concepts From A to Z
- Rodgers and Hammerstein Encyclopedia
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Reference Books
A very partial list of some dance, theater and music books in our Reference section:
- Historical Dictionary of African American Theater - Anthony D. Hill with Douglas Q. BarnettCall Number: PN2270.A35 H53 2009ISBN: 0810855348
- Grey House Performing Arts DirectoryCall Number: PN1561.G74 2007ISBN: 1592371388
- Sourcebook for Research in Music - Phillip D. Crabtree and Donald H. FosterISBN: 0253346118
- Harvard Dictionary of Music - edited by Don Michael RandelCall Number: ML100 .A64 2003ISBN: 0674011635
- A Chronology of American Musical Theater - Richard C. NortonCall Number: ML1711.8.N3 N67 2002ISBN: 0195088883







Loading content... please wait
